21 LG Chairmen, All Zonal Chairmen Defect From SDP To APC In Kogi

The zonal chairmen of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) in the three senatorial districts of Kogi State, and 21 Local Government Chairmen has officially defected on Thursday, from the party to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defectors made their decision to join the ruling party public at the Government House in Lokoja.

They said they weighed their options and chose the continuous development of the state and the wellbeing of indigenes above other considerations.

The SDP’s Zonal Chairman for Kogi East, Suleiman Isah, criticised what he described as the SDP’s campaign strategy based on ethnicity.

“We are happy that this is happening today. Even while we were in the opposition, we were aware that you did a lot for the state.

“The infrastructure projects are what anyone cannot deny, Your Excellency, we have all decided to join the APC to support the efforts at further developing the state.

“And we will give all the necessary support to ensure victory for the APC candidate in the governorship election,” Isah said.

The acting Chairman of SDP for Kogi Central Senatorial District, Zubairu Ibrahim, also commended the governor for infrastructure development in the state.

He also acknowledged his significant efforts at ensuring the security of lives and property.

He said the people of Kogi State now enjoyed improved security and peace compared to what was obtained in the past, stressing that well-meaning Kogites would not sacrifice that on the altar of politics.

READ ALSO:  Saraki Called Dino Melaye ‘Clown’ – Sen. Adamu

Let Zebra News help your business/brand reach a wider audience. Advertise with us today! Contact Our Marketing Team; Tel: 08062622328, 07083662767. Email: zebranewsng@gmail.com