President Tinubu Wants Senate to Confirm Five CBN Directors

President Bola Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu on Tuesday forwarded the names of five directors for the board of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) for confirmation by the Senate.

Mr Tinubu’s request was contained in a letter addressed to Senate President Godswill Akpiabio and read at the plenary on Tuesday in Abuja.

The board members are Robert Agbide, Ado Wanga, Muritala Sagaley, Urom Eke and Olayinka Aliyu.

Mr Tinubu stated that the appointment complied with section 6, sub-section 1b and section 10 sub, sections 1 and 2 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Establishment Act 2007.

“I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate the appointment of the under-listed directors of the Board of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

“Robert Agbide, Ado Wanga, Muritala Sagaley, Urom Eke and Olayinka Aliyu.

“While hoping that the request will receive expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept the distinguished Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards,” Mr Tinubu stated.

Mr Akpabio referred the matter to the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions for further legislative input. He urged them to report back to the plenary in four weeks.

Meanwhile, in another letter, Mr Tinubu also sought the confirmation of Hamidu Rahim as Commissioner for the National Population Commission (NPC) representing Osun.

The president stated that the request was in accordance with the provisions of section 154, sub-section one of the 1999 constitution as amended.

Mr Akpiabio, however, referred the matter to the Senate Committee on National Population and National Identity for further legislative action and urged the committee to report back to plenary in one week.

Let Zebra News help your business/brand reach a wider audience. Advertise with us today! Contact Our Marketing Team; Tel: 08062622328, 07083662767. Email: